Home > Woodworking > Artist’s Pencil Boxes

Artist’s Pencil Boxes

For the last several years I have made Christmas gifts for my family in the workshop. No one would call me a master craftsman but I enjoy my time in the shop and I feel that a handmade gift beats mass-produced every time! Well not every time (let’s be real) but you get my drift. This year I didn’t really start my project early enough because I was excited about completing my first scratch electric guitar build. I needed a project that could finish in time and without too much nashing of teeth. Enter “The Artist’s Pencil Boxes”, a plan which I had but never really thought I’d actually make.

Milling the Stock

I began by going through my wood reserve and landing on a lonely but willing cypress board. For this project most of the lumber was 1/4″ or less in thickness so I began by jointing and planing and cutting.

img_1400 img_1401 img_1396

The result, materials for six boxes.

img_1402

Making the Box

Next I routed and cut pieces to fabricate the boxes.

img_1399

Once I knew they were going to work I glued them up, then sliced them longitudinally.

img_1412 img_1413

Then a peg was inserted in the bottom half and the top fit to the bottoms for each box.

img_1414

Getting each of the tops to slide smoothly was chose but I kept at it until I was satisfied they would open on Christmas.

img_1415

Six completed boxes and ready for a simple shellac finish. No time for anything else really!

img_1416

Pack ’em up and ship ’em; Christmas isn’t going to wait!

img_1417

Hopefully I’ll plan ahead for next year but…. don’t count on it!!!

Categories: Woodworking Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

