Home > Woodworking > A couple more rehabed hands tools

A couple more rehabed hands tools

I am by no means a hand tool restoration expert. Come to think of it, I’m really not an expert at anything but at least I have a reasonably keen mind and like to learn and tinker. Once I finally got around to cleaning up some of these old tools I actually learned a lesson or two. At the most basic level, by taking things apart you can see how they are built. By cleaning them up, tweaking and honing them I actually learned that a tool doesn’t have to cost 10 times as much to function. Sometimes you just have to slow down and quit reading the forums.

Bailey Spokeshave

When I purchased this guy the screw holding the blade was frozen and the shave had a nice black patina. A bit of soaking and scrubbing and tool ended up quite serviceable. I’m not sure how much life is left on the blade but with my limited use I’m sure it will be in the years range.

Bailey Spokeshave 2016-02-09 06.43.23

I can’t quite figure out the exact model of this guy which is not all that surprising considering how many variations of this device have been produced over the ages. The closest I found was a listing on eBay for a shave the seller thought was a Bailey No. 8. which he states would be like the Stanley 58. True enough on the blade and cap but this model has raised handles and from the pictures I saw the Stanley 58 had straight.

Granddaddy’s Chisel

As I mentioned in my last post, Granddad Phillip really used his tools so many showed signs of great wear. This was the only chisel I recovered and it appeared to be in pitiful shape. The handle and blade were covered in blue and white paint. You can’t see it in this picture but the handle is also missing the back half, apparently from being hammered. Once I cleaned it up I found it manufacturer’s mark to read Rockford Greenlee. My first impression was that I was going to have to replace the handle then it occurred to me that I could just sand it down and remove all the rough edges. I put about three coats of boiled linseed oil on it and sharpened it. I now keep it with my Lie-Nielsen chisels set for when I need a 1″ chisel.

Rockford Greenville 1" Bench Chisel

Uncle’s Citrus Knife

I am named after my Great Uncle, Arthur M. Clarke. My father always referred to him simply as “Uncle”. Uncle owned citrus and he agreed to help my Dad attend the University of Florida after the war (WWII) as long as Dad majored in ….. citrus. Ultimately my father became a school teacher and principal retiring after 32 yrs of service but before this he graduated from UF with a degree in horticulture and worked in citrus. It was in the orange groves that I first saw my Dad pull out one of these long bladed pocket knives and expertly remove the peel from an orange in one long sliver. It was typical for these knives to have plastic pearloid scales, sometimes with a logo on the side. The knife I found was made in Germany, rusted with the scales broken and falling off. The plastic material was simply at the end of its life and crumbling. Once again, I have no idea what I’m doing but I did it anyway. My attempt at forming new scales from some scrap sapele.

Citrus Knife with new Scales 2016-02-19 18.48.34

First I removed the old scales then soaked and removed as much rust off the case as possible. I then cut some sapele scrap and discovered that I didn’t really know what I was doing. Short of removing the old rivets, I attempted to make a pattern and drill holes in the wood so the scales could be glued to the case. This worked…. sort of. Well I just winged it, shaping the scales on the belt sander and generally making a mess of things. After this I took some wood filler (Timbermate) and added a drop of red mahogany dye to darken it and used it to fill the pores. Once leveled I put several coats of BLO and I felt that it came out OK. I’ll make no claims to have done a professional job however I had fun with it. If you think about it, I started with something that was useless as it was and made it into something that can be used and enjoyed for years to come. I think it was worth the journey.

Thanks for peeking in on the Turtlecovebrewer’s Workshop…..

Categories: Woodworking Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

