Home > Woodworking > I have no doubt “tools” will be involved….

I have no doubt “tools” will be involved….

My wife’s great comeback when joking with me about my woodworking abilities. She was intimating of course that I WAS the tool in question. I love to laugh and it is her great sense of humor that I find is my most favorite thing.

It has been several weeks now since I’ve found the time to work in my shop and I’m starting to go just a little bit crazy. I have managed to read a bit and also to work on cleaning up and servicing the rest of the tools I collected on our Georgia trip a year ago this Christmas.

Hand Saw

I picked up two Disston handsaws, the saw pictured below and another which I haven’t worked on yet. I don’t expect this saw carries with it very much important as a collectible but it is a Disston and it is now mine. As appears to be common, the upper spur was damaged from use and there was a fair amount of paint splatters on the handle. I gently sanded to remove paint and grime and rounded off the broken spur.

Diston Crosscut Saw

I sanded off rust from the blade and soaked the saw bolts in vinegar and salt to remove the dirt, rust and grime. When I polished them up they appeared to be more like copper than brass which I found very attractive. I understand that more bolts in the handle reflects higher quality and for the life of me I can’t find a Disston saw with only 3 bolts attaching the handle. All that I have seen online have 4 or 5 but the medallion clearly reads Disston * Phila so go figure. One posting I saw on eBay indicates this style having been used between 1917 and 1940. This coupled with the fewer bolts says to me this is a later made saw. Wikipedia states that Disston was bought out in 1954 so that would likely be the last year hand saws were produced. If anyone reading this knows more please feel free to comment.

Disston Medallion

Once reassembled I was pleasantly surprised that the saw was relatively sharp.

Grand Daddy’s Tools

My wife’s Grandmother is 95 and still doing well in Winter Haven, Florida. On a visit last year Susan’s uncle took us by her house to see if there was anything we wanted and I was shown the workbench. Granddad Phillip liked to make things and a few (very few) of his tools remained, most of which were considered “junk”. I never-the-less found some old Great Neck wooden handled screwdrivers and scarfed them up. They showed signs of great use, with splatters of paint, split handles and some rusting. Most had been used with a hammer at some point in their lives. These were tools, not heirlooms.

Eventually I took the time to clean them up with a light sanding and applied a coat of shellac to the well-worn handles. The handle on the smallest screwdriver was split down the center so I glued and clamped it together. As you can see I wound up with 3 Phillips and 2 small standard drivers as well as a pretty (fat) punch.

Great Neck Screwdrivers

I have one more to restore which I forgot about because it was hanging on my pegboard. This was a large standard screwdriver that Granddaddy Phillip modified to use as a gasket puller or so I believe.

Vintage (Modified) Screwdriver

I know Phillip did a lot of hammering with his screwdrivers but I’m thinking this one he modified on purpose. My plan is to clean it up and use it in its modified state. It might be possible to straighten the blade but at this point, I have little interest in do so.

Hand Drill

So far this is the only tool that I purchased in Georgia that is missing parts. The drill itself seems fine but the chuck is incomplete. I didn’t know how they worked at first so it took me experimenting with it a couple of times to realize that the chuck was indeed broken. I have the inner 3 jaw pieces but not the platen and spring that make it all work together.

Eggbeater Hand Drill

I oiled the pinion and shellacked the handles but this tool is on hold until a replacement chuck or chuck parts can be scrounged. So I have the outer chuck casing and the 3 jaws but according to this picture I need the springs and the conical (platen) thingy. Perhaps I can find said items on the cheap somewhere.

Chuck Innerds

I’m certainly no hand tool connoisseur but I like the idea of having a hand drill around for those times when you want to put a plastic shield in drywall or other simple tasks. Of course if I get this thing working I might actually use it on projects, why not? No luck so far however and all I’ve managed to do is to get the palm of my hand caught in the gears, ouch 😦

I also cleaned up and sharpened a Bailey spoke shave but I’ll have to post the pictures another time.

I hope to get back into the shop soon, if not I think my head will explode!!!

Categories: Woodworking Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

