Home > Woodworking > Two Projects Running and What Do I Do?

Two Projects Running and What Do I Do?

Not work on either project of course! I wanted to work on them but I ended up spending some of my weekend with family instead. Had I not done so, I wouldn’t have witnessed the “Florida Blizzard of 2016”. That’s right we had some snow flurrying around about mid-day in Gainesville. By the time I got home in the afternoon and with my shop a bit of a mess, I couldn’t get serious about the next steps of my build. So…. I decided to piddle around instead.

Sunday was a bit of a repeat of Saturday and after taking a 4 mile walk with my wife, I still felt like the shop was disarranged. So….I distracted myself again. I refer you to my post from almost one year ago, “Christmas in Georgia“.

 

IMG_6952

On that trip I brought back some tools with which I have done nothing, until Sunday.

Last Friday I stumbled upon a Paul Seller’s video entitled “Restoring the Bench Plane“. As with most of Mr. Seller’s lectures, he makes things look easy. He is so knowledgeable, so experienced, so practical and best of all so unpretentious. Every-time I think about him I just keep saying, “Paul Sellers is the real deal”. Any way my point is not to fawn over Mr. Sellers but to point out that this particular video gave me the desire to rehab my Fulton Warranted smoother (seen in the upper right of the above photo). I’m calling it a No. 4.

Fortunately for me, the plane had all of its parts and only the rear tote was broken. (Note: I saw an identical plane on eBay with exactly the same break on its handle) What held me up from working on it was that I was going to use electrolysis to remove all the rust and I never took the time to build the gizmo to do it. Thus everything sat in limbo. Paul simply cleaned off the rust with abrasive paper, so simple even I could do it. Which is what I ended up doing Sunday afternoon.

After fully watching Paul’s video on Friday, I pretty much winged it myself on Sunday with what I had learned. I won’t go in to detail rather I would refer you to his tutorial. I probably spent about 3 or 4 hours from start to finish. I took some shavings during the build and I’m sure I can do better with some tuning. As long as the rear tote glue-up holds I think I’ll be in business.

Fulton Warranted Bench Plane

Fulton Warranted Bench Plane

  1. January 27, 2016 at 9:59 am

    I watched the same video from Sellers and thought it was excellent. I’m not sure if you’ve ever tried to use citric acid, but it does an amazing job. About 4oz per gallon of hot water and few hours soaking will clean up just about any tool imaginable. The best part is it won’t harm the tool and it’s perfectly safe to just pour into the drain when your finished with it (and it leaves an oddly pleasing citrus smell in the air) But I’ve used it on planes, drill bits, braces, saws, saw blades, etc. and it has always worked without fail.

    Back to Sellers, I subscribe to his web page, and I can honestly say that I’ve learned more in three months of watching him than I have in 5 years of woodworking. Your plane is a perfect example. You watched the video one time and turned out a great looking tool. Nothing more needs to me said!

    Bill

    • January 27, 2016 at 12:12 pm

      Hi Bill, thanks for sharing your experience with citric acid as a rust remover. When I built my tool chest I was going to use it to remove zinc from home center parts as shown by Chris Schwarz in the video but I never actually purchased any. I hear it is used in canning and should be in Publix and otherwise you can buy it online in bulk. I need to keep some on hand as I have other rusted tools to work on ….. I’m rehabbing an old knife of my Dad’s which he used to peel citrus when he worked in that industry after college. For this I soaked in vinegar and salt and it sort of worked. I’m sure way less aggressive than citric acid and didn’t smell nearly as nice afterward …..

      • January 27, 2016 at 12:16 pm

        I purchased some at a supermarket. It’s also sold at craft stores and on Amazon. It’s very inexpensive. I’ve never used it on hardware but I’m sure it would do a fine job. I was most impressed after using it to clean a rusty and paint covered Disston hand saw. After just a few hours it easily wiped clean with just some steel wool. No hard scrubbing needed.
        Bill

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

