Home > Family, Woodworking > Merry Christmas from Turtlecove!

Merry Christmas from Turtlecove!

Whether you are a Christian or not doesn’t matter because I’m still wishing you and your family a very merry Christmas!

Last weekend my family and I traveled to visit my mother in Orlando so that we could celebrate Christmas together a bit early. We had our traditional family “white elephant” gift exchange then I presented Mom with a handmade gift, some C-fold paper towel holders. Mom has been using these in her bathrooms for years and the ones my Dad made some 20 years ago have pretty much fallen apart.

C-fold Paper Towel Holders

Using a few of the towels as samples I grabbed my trusty tape measure and came up with measurements of my own design. I didn’t have a lot of time to practice so I kept it pretty simple. I decided that mitered corners would be strong enough for this application and would add a bit of flair to the boxes. To cut the mitres I added a sacrificial fence to my table saw’s miter gauge and set the bevel for 45°. I then ran the fence through the blade and cut the fence to 45°. I was pleased to see that miter cuts to my box sides were precise and tear-out free. So far so good.

With a very satisfactory dry fit, I forged ahead with the “tape roll-up” method for the glue-up. This is where things went bad. Suffice it to say that the method was helpful to keep the parts located during assembly but I was not properly prepared to apply proper clamping pressure in all the directions that were simultaneously required. Tightening one clamp immediately pulled another joint apart. I fiddled as long as I had open-time and finally resigned myself to “do better” on box number 2.

For the second glue-up, I stuck with taping for a roll-up but decided that I should use corner clamps to get better, more accurate clamping pressure. Unfortunately my corner clamps are a bit too large and I could only clamp two of the four corners with these devices. The second glue-up was better but still rated a “fail” on the awesome scale.

When I have this situation in the future I think I’ll give my band clamp a go. Perhaps if I had used it around the middle it might have applied pressure more evenly allowing all four of the mitered joints to pull tight at the same time.

I had other “challenges” as well but you know what, I’m learning and I’m having fun and I think Mom really appreciated the hand-made gift for her home.

Mom with her new home-made  towel holders

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

Categories: Family, Woodworking Tags: , ,
  1. December 23, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Happy Christmas, Art! BTW, Jonas Jensen and myself are considering a “beefcake” calendar of male woodworkers if you want in! 🙂

    • December 23, 2013 at 3:08 pm

      Hummmm…. potentially a revenue stream for tools??

      • December 23, 2013 at 6:59 pm

        That’s what I’m thinking. With specimens like us, the money will be pouring in!!!

      • December 23, 2013 at 7:13 pm

        My wife commented on our idea, “tools would definitely be involved!” I don’t think I liked her tone 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

