Home > Woodworking > Thien Baffle / Crosscut Sled – Part 2

Thien Baffle / Crosscut Sled – Part 2

Last weekend I made my way back to the shop and projects which have been waiting for my attention.

Phil Thien’s Cyclone Separator Lid

Working from the Phil Thien’s cyclone separator lid page, I did my best lay out and fabricate parts to assemble my version of the chip separator. I started by tracing around the outside diameter of the 3″ PVC coupling I would use as a through (bulkhead) in the lid. I drilled a pilot hole and cut the bulk of the through hole out with a skill saw. Using a drum sander attachment on a hand-held drill, I smoothed and widened the hole until I had a perfect fit with the PVC coupler. I made two of these one on the edge for vacuum intake and one dead center for the vacuum exhaust. Mocking up the PVC elbow in the top lid I made my best guess-timate how far into the can the bottom lid would protrude and measured the diameter of the can at the level. The trick her is to get the near edge close to the can wall for a nice fit while not making it too big and having to hog off a log of material with a shave or drum sander. The spacers separating the two lids where cut from a recycled broom handle (hey, I had dowels that would have worked I just decided to use these instead).

Using a protractor, I measured a 120° arc then measuring in from the edge I came in 1.225″ drawing an inner arc around the remaining 240° arc of the circle for the chip fall-away zone. That 1.125″ measurement sounds silly but Mr. Thien’s research should a 2.25″ drop zone to be best for separating so who was I to question his findings?

Here is a dry fit of the baffle as I sort out placement of the spacers. I pre-drilled and countersunk 1 1/4″ screws into the spaces to hold the two pieces together.

IMG_3517

I used 4″ dust collector hose fittings for both the intake and exhaust side of the baffle. I had to trim a small piece off the edge of the intake fitting then I ran a bead of sealant caulk and fastened them with 1/2″ screws. Ditto for the exhaust side.

Top Fittings

At this point I’m almost ready for a test. I rigged up a 4″ to 2 1/4″ hose adapter so I could attach the unit to my shop-vac only to find out, it doesn’t fit. I could attach the plastic tools to it but the hose diameter matches exactly the diameter of this adapter.

Almost Finished

So I left it there. I need to pickup another 3″ PVC coupling for the exhaust bulkhead and then I’ll rig up my other adapter that will fit the shop-vac hose. What a racket they have made from vacuum cleaner hoses and fittings?

Crosscut Sled – Part 2

I am still struggling with how to easily and properly install the 1/4″ x 20 threaded brass inserts into my crosscut sled fence. I experimented by drilling a larger than recommended hole but this time the threads didn’t catch enough to secure the insert. I’ve ended up basically drilling a hole the same diameter of the insert and using epoxy to secure it. Frustrating indeed.

Mocking Up to Attach the Adjustable Side Fence

I’m trying to think things through but it seems like a juggling act to get all the pieces in place .

What to Attach First?

So with the front and rear fences attached to the off-cut panel, I attempt to line up the front fence so it can be screwed down square to the blade.

Front and Rear Fences Screwed in Place

I’m still working to line everything up which has been tricky. Stay tuned, this project is still underway.

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

  1. November 13, 2013 at 8:57 am

    You can almost make out the red color of the dowel spacers. That is yet another piece of the recycled broom handle. I’ve gotten a bit of mileage out it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

