Home > Woodworking > Un-till we saw again…..

Un-till we saw again…..

Is it a requirement for bloggers to use awful puns for their post headlines?

Tool Money

So a month or so ago, I worked a Saturday event and made a little extra “tool” money. I have been actively demonstrating that having tools does not make one a craftsman but having tools does help to empower one to become a better woodworker. So the latest object of my desire has been to own a quality back saw. I started with a little “research” (aka Google) and checked out some of the reviews of the major players. I really wanted a pretty saw, one that would make a statement about me and what an “awesome” wood wrangler I have become (lol). I then compared the cost of these heirloom saws with my tool money and decided to keep looking. I found the Veritas back saws and were a bit shocked that they were… well… ugly. But then I decided to read what people were saying about these saws and universally folks agreed that they were well-engineered and quite a bargain. In fact I could buy 4 saws for the price of one “pretty” saw so that is what I decided I would do. Two dovetail and two carcass saws one each in crosscut and rip set.

Vertias Back Saws

I was tempted to buy all 5 but sanity prevailed and I realized that these 4 would more than meet the need. As I was doing this “research” a funny thing happened, I became accustomed to the unique look of these guys and I now think they are quite beautiful. What I love most is the way they feel in my hand and easily they slice wood.

Saw Till

There will be plenty of time to practice with these new saws on my future builds but one thing I wanted to get done was to knock out a saw till for them to mount in my tool chest. I modeled my design after (who else) Christopher Schwarz’s example but having left my print outs upstairs yesterday during the build, I winged it. I didn’t want to use expensive wood but looking through my pile of scraps I decided to use a couple of pieces of cypress that I had practiced cutting dovetails on. I laid out the design directly on the wood and went to the band saw. The kerfs used to  hold the saws where also cut on the band saw and were wide enough with one cut and did not require enlarging.

Tool Chest Saw Till for Back Saws

I suppose I could have made the till a bit more compact to save room but at the time of the build I was utilizing all the wood available so that I would better protect the handles from getting dinged up on each other. Overall I think it a serviceable solution. To aid my small brain I have cross-cut saws with handles on left and rip saws with handles on right.

Saw Till from Looking into the Tool Chest

I had a hard time deciding where to mount the till within the chest. I could have run them along one of the short walls but then I questioned how easy it would be to extract saws with the trays in place. I was also mindful of potentially needing the entire length of the chest for whatever long items (e.g. a future jointer plane, etc).  I decided to place them along the front wall but off to the right wall a bit. I consoled myself with the knowledge that I could always relocate the till in the future should I need to.

I attached each half of the till with 3 – 1 1/4″ screws from underneath the chest. Somehow I managed to do this without help but it wasn’t easy. After marking the outline of the till sides inside the chest, I drilled small (to limit blow out) locator holes from inside the chest.  I then emptied the chest and laid it on it’s back. I enlarged the pilot holes from underneath the chest and inserted screws so they just poked through then I carefully placed the till piece within the marked lines and tapped it with a mallet to mark the screw locations on the bottom of the till half. I then pre-drilled the screw holes in the till half and placed it back on top of the protruding screws. I note that I actually had to crawl inside the chest to do all this. I was fortunate that when I turned the screws tight the piece didn’t fall off the screws rather they stayed in placed and snugged the piece to the chest. It would have been helpful to have had an assistant hold the piece in place while marking and drilling the screws but all my helpers where on a walk at the time.

But What about the Thien Baffle?

I have been a bit stymied by the baffle project. I did remove the collapsed aluminum skin and scraped off the old caulk. I also cut and installed some additional pillars to support the new skin which at this time is to be plastic from a bucket. In this photo you can make out the 4 new supports (one is against the spout) and gasket material.

Baffle with added Pillar Supports

It was Susan that questioned whether or not a cut  bucket would fit being of wider diameter at the top than the bottom. I acknowledged this but didn’t think it a problem until I started actually attaching the new skin. First of all it wasn’t easy to work the plastic. It does work but it is very hard at first but once sheared it gives quickly, almost too quickly. Makes for difficulty controlling your cuts.

The New Baffle Skin

I haven’t given up on this idea yet but it did stop me on Saturday. I now believe that I can cut the plastic to shape basically cutting at an angle to remove the excess material from the top rim. I come to this conclusion after rolling the plastic into a cylinder and observing how much and where to cut from the top. Looks like it will work. Of course after I get this all figured out, I know the thing is still going to leak. Can you say, “Dust Deputy?”

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

  1. October 7, 2013 at 9:52 am

    I like the saw till! I’ve been meaning to make one for my tool chest but other projects keep getting in the way. I have the Veritas dovetail(rip file) saw and the carcass saw as well. I like both just fine, but part of me wishes that I had bought the LN dovetail saw, which I’ve used several times and really liked. Still, you can’t argue with the cost of the Veritas; they are well made and work just great.
    Bill

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

