Home > Woodworking > “Zero G and I feel fine..…”

“Zero G and I feel fine..…”

Who remembers the words of John Glenn spoken from the capsule Friendship Seven that day in 1962? Well I was only 4 so I didn’t hear them live but as a fan of the space program this phrase is etched in my memories as though I had. With one child safely in Paris and the other two being cared for by their Dad, Susan and I have reached escape velocity and are safely orbiting at our home in Melrose (aka Turtlecove). No kids, no problem mon…

Susan had to work yesterday but I stayed home to begin the vacation a day early. I snuck off to the orange colored home center to pickup some new lighting for my shop. I have to tell you, I only spent $100 and I couldn’t be more pleased with the result. I ended up replacing two of those single bulb hanging lights with two 4 ft 2 bulb fluorescent shop lights. But wait, there’s more. I went with the Philips Alto 6500K daylight T8 tubes and I am we’ll pleased. Frankly I hated the yellow light generated by those horrible compact fluorescent bulbs the government has duped us into buying. Yet another example how of coercive top down planning and propaganda don’t yield positive outcomes. They cost 10 times that of your typical incandescent bulb and last about a tenth as long (I don’t think they like being turned on and off). And let’s not forget all that great Hg that will end up in the drinking water when all those crappy dead bulbs wind up at the dump. And the quality of he the light, hey if you like it fine but I think it stinks. Oh and also they have to warm up when you turn them on and they don’t work when it’s cold (like outside) These new T8 fluorescent tubes are supposed to last 7 yrs, I’ll believe that when I see it but if they last longer than 6 months they’ll beat the snot out of CF fixtures.

A bit on the risky side I decided to “drink the kool-aid” and I bought an LED daylight A19 bulb to go in a single bulb fixture for directly over my workbench. That sucker cost $20 but if one can believe the figures, I’ll break even in about one year of use. Hopefully it won’t bust within that time period. I love the “natural daylight” color and I immediately felt alert and, well healthier in my little shop.

I will probably add another fixture or two, perhaps one that will better service my table and band saw. I did this on a whim but I would encourage anyone to give it a try. You can start small and if you like it expand to other areas of your shop. It was a very economical upgrade!

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

Categories: Woodworking Tags: ,
  1. July 23, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    I am a huge fan of recessed lighting because I feel it produces the most even light. I’ve been thinking about installing it in my garage for years but I never get around to it. Being an electrician I have no excuses but something else always seems to come up. I’m also a fan of 50K temp on my bulbs but to each his own. Good Luck!
    Bill

    • July 24, 2013 at 8:17 am

      I will definitely give try the 5000 K bulbs a try at some point. At the moment I have plenty of the 6500 so it will be next time round. I’d like to compare them as I know both colors have their fans.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

