Home > Woodworking > Good things come to those who wait ….

Good things come to those who wait ….

Or so the saying goes. I have been waiting and consequently things have been moving rather slowly in my shop these days but it’s not because I’m taking a break. To the contrary I have been working several rather time-consuming tasks to make room in my shop for this bad boy.

Grizzly G0715P Table Saw

That’s right, I finally pulled the trigger and purchased not one but two saws. The first is the Grizzly G0715P hybrid table saw resting safely on its new mobile base. The second saw will arrive by truck next Friday as it was on brief back order.

Grizzly G0555LANV 14" Band Saw

So I’ve a bit to do before any of this gear will be in service. I will have to expand my shop footprint further into the basement proper and unfortunately for me, a lot of “stuff”  already occupies that space. Susan has been helping and she spent a huge part of her day off, making way just so I could off-load the 405 lb. behemoth from my trailer and into the basement. Unloading was only made possible with preparation which involved a 100 mi round trip with the trailer to a friend’s house to borrow a 2 ton engine hoist.

Engine Hoist

In case you’ve never worked with one of these babies let me say they are heavier than they look in the pictures (just saying).

So at this point, one saw home, one to unload. The band saw is considerably lighter at a mere 240 lbs. No worries, right?

Meanwhile I’ve had the electrician out to the house to work up an estimate to upgrade our service panel and run the 220 circuit I’ll need for these guys. Our panel is completely maxed out so it’s not just the expense of the new circuit but the much larger expense of putting the home’s electric service where it really needs to be.  He gave me some ball park figures but I’ve got to get the quote. Git-R-Done.

I think I’ve chosen wisely with this purchase. I very seriously considered two other Grizzly saws, the G1023RL (3 HP true cabinet saw) and the G0513ANV 17″ 2 HP band saw. By this I mean I spent months thinking about it and had all but made up my mind, I just couldn’t make myself purchase them. I kept coming back to the fact that the lessor saws would completely meet my needs and save me a $1,000 to use for other more pressing causes e.g. upgrading the electric service. So other than my ego wanting those larger more capable saws, I didn’t really think I actually needed them. I sure liked the idea of re-sawing larger stock on the 17″ band saw though. I am going to add the riser kit for the 14″ version  I purchased which will bring the re-saw size from 6″ to 12″. That will just have to do.

I have quite a long way to go, more money to spend and the shop is a mess but I’m contented anyway because I know good things are ahead and I have begun the work.

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

Categories: Woodworking
  1. June 21, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    200a service upgrade with sub panel? My fee would be right around $2000 if you were getting all new equipment. Keep in mind, I don’t do that type of work anymore. Running a 240v recept from an existing panel would be between $85-$150 depending on the amperage and the distance from the MBP.

    I very nearly purchased the Grizzly and would have if I didn’t receive my current saw as a gift. I think it’s a great saw. Good Luck with it. I’m sure you’ll have it for a long, long time.
    Bill

    • June 21, 2013 at 3:20 pm

      Thanks for the info Bill. I have a lot to learn about both saws and for now must be patient while I get things in order.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

