Home > Woodworking > Glue-ups and not much else…

Glue-ups and not much else…

Perhaps it was my (nervous) reflection of “Woodworking Safety Day”, perhaps it was the medical crisis of my 85-year-old Mom or maybe I’m just tired from work but whatever the reason I wasn’t feeling the shop love last night. Even though my energy levels were down, I was plenty careful using tools. I know that when you don’t feel right, you can be at risk for an accident.

The evening’s goal was straight forward enough, to glue-up my DP table pieces in preparation for final assembly. The two fence halves were glued and clamped and I was mindful not to get glue squeeze out in the dados. I’m not real happy about the bow in the fence, it’s slight but it’s there. I’ll probably end up making another version in the future but I’ll finish this one up and see how it works.

Next, I rooted through my scraps and found two 1″ round cut outs from another project (probably from when I made the poplar star knobs) and felt they would make ideal knobs for the fence. I cleaned up the existing ¼” through hole for the bolt, then drilled a ½” recess to accept a nut which I epoxied in place. Which brings me to the question, “Which came first the chicken or the egg?”  In a perfect world I would start with a solid circle, find the center then drill the larger bolt recess on the bottom. I could then flip the disc over and again finding the center I could drill the smaller through hole. Unfortunately my discs were cut using a hole saw attachment using a hand drill and thus they already have the smaller through hole in them. This made drilling the recess more difficult because a piece of the center was already removed and I had nothing to center my drill bit on. I did the best I could by temporarily plugging the hole with a wooden dowel but this was only partially successful. The dowel spun and the bit didn’t bite perfectly. I think this could have worked if I had glued up the dowels and let them dry, then drilled the recess before re-drilling the through hole. But I was experimenting and didn’t figure this out until I tried it the “easy” way first.

Drill Press Fence Components

The previous steps took longer than I would have hoped and it seemed at times I was struggling with seemingly simple tasks but I did take my time and thought often of how I could make it better next time.  When I’ve cleaned up the shop and put my tools away I try to comfort myself knowing that my skills will improve with experience.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to glue my DP top and base or simply screw them together. To me it really boiled down to whether or not I felt like I would ever need to disassemble them or was I ready for them to be permanently bonded? The question was settled after a trip to my screw bin. I didn’t have any screws of appropriate length AND I also decided that gluing wouldn’t interfere with any future tinkering I might come up with (e.g. I installing a real T-track should I ever feel I want one)

So glue away I did. I’m getting a bit tired of cleaning up all the squeeze out from my glue-ups and I have to keep wondering if I’m using too much glue. Let me rephrase that, “I think I’ve been using too much glue.” So I’m going to make some adjustments using less and see what kind of results I get. I’m thinking less glue with perfect coverage would be the pro’s trick but I’m definitely not dialed in yet.

DP Table Top to Base Glue-up

For this panel glue-up I did use less and I also made sure to keep glue away from the dados. The result was almost no squeeze out. Time will tell if I erred on the side of too little but really what can happen, the pieces separate on me? I don’t see that happening.

Next time, final assembly and some testing.

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

Categories: Woodworking
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

