Home > Woodworking > Getting to know you…getting to know all about you…

Getting to know you…getting to know all about you…

Thursday night means an hour and a half of shop tinkering time. On my way home from work I stopped by my local blue big box store and picked up a Bosch ROS20VSC 5″ random orbit sander that I have been eyeing for a while. Having read several tool comparisons this one is consistently ranked favorably. Also important, it is competitively priced. After pointing out that this was the last one and an open box the attendant offered me a 10% discount which I thought was fair on both sides.

Bosch_ROS20VSC_Rando Orbit Sander

I also bit the bullet and purchased 3 packs of varying grit paper for which I’m sure I paid a premium. Git-R-Done.

The real purpose of my visit was not the sander but to pick up a variety of bolts with matching nuts. I did inherit a fair selection of random bolts in my shop but unfortunately there isn’t a nut to be found that matches any of them. Almost all I have discovered are metric. The big box store had NO metric nuts. I bought a variety of SAE bolt sizes that I thought might work for this project and to have on hand. I’ll order some metric nuts online I suppose to mate with the others.

<Rant>
When I started putting my shop together I really felt compelled to go all metric. I really didn’t see the point of trying to work in 1/4″, 1/8″, 1/16″, 1/32″ or 1/64″ of a fricken inch. I have no experience with these measurements nor did I really want any. Unfortunately, in the US it’s very difficult to play solely in metric land. Everything you see read about or can purchase is SAE so decontamination is nigh improbable if not impossible. Oh sure, you can buy metric sets but you’ll end with two of everything one metric and one SAE and I’m not happy about it.
</Rant>

You may recall from the last post, I was worried that the bolt or nut from the magnet would stick up and interfere with  the sacrificial insert so I was searching for a way to bolt it flush. My solution was to counter bore a shallow ½” recess and use a flat head bolt and  ½” washer. I think I’m going to forego the epoxy and call this part done.

So on to the T-tracks that will be used to mount my sliding fence. On Tuesday I pulled out my router’s plunge base and edge guide for the very first time. I had many questions about not only the basic concept of setting depth of cut but the several controls available on my particular model. My initial dadoes were learning experiences. There were problems but things went fairly well considering I was learning on the job. My first dado I felt like I accomplished what I set out to do but the second went much deeper than I had “planned”. I decided to extend the length of both dadoes and to go ahead and deepen the first to match the depth of the second. I did a better job on setting depths but I still am getting used to the depth setting adjustments on the Bosch 1617. One more session and perhaps an instructional video or two and I think it will click for me.

I changed to a smaller 1/4″ straight cut bit to route the DP top panel. I knew enough to know that I was going to have to take my time routing clear through 3/4″ plywood. I went slowly making perhaps 6 or 8 passes (I didn’t count) and generally all went well. Only a couple minor lapses of concentration but all was serviceable.

I hear the young ones ravaging the kitchen upstairs so everyone must now be home and it’s time to clean up the shop. Before turning off the lights,  I mock up the table to see if it’s all going to work together. I’ll need some longer T-bolts, the one’s I previously purchased aren’t going to be long enough given the 3/4″ needed just to pass through the plywood. I temporarily clamped the top and base and I’m giving consideration of using 2″ x 2″ stock for a fence. I may do that and make a second taller fence from two pieces of plywood as shown on Steve Ramsey’s video previously referenced. Many possibilities so I’ll see what I have on hand and how I feel that day, then see what works best. I continue to worry that the quill feed levers will hit the fence and I haven’t yet sorted that issue.

DP Table Test Fit

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

  1. April 26, 2013 at 10:20 am

    I have an old Ridgid that I picked up used a few years ago. It’s beat to hell but it still works. I like the Bosch and if I get a new one that’s what I’ll probably purchase.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

