Home > Family, Woodworking > Coming home…

Coming home…

With the completion of the saw bench project, I look around the shop and see quite a bit of clutter. Before I decide on my next build, I need to spend some quality time putting things away and organizing With build time being a premium, the new items I’ve come home with have been sitting in bags and boxes feeling “unloved”.  I had in mind a traditional shoeshine box for my next practice project but this has now been preempted by the homecoming of my father-in-law’s ash remains. I wish I had a bit more skill at this point but necessity and love for wife dictate that I build Bill an urn. And so I shall and if this one doesn’t look presentable enough than we shall consider it temporary housing until I have learned enough to build a better one. A quick Google search pulled up a couple that I liked and I think I’ve already picked a winner.

Dorset Custom Furniture Urn

Click on the box to read how Dan Mosheim made this one for his friend. My tribute to Dan’s design will no doubt pale in comparison but I thought maybe I should give it a shot. First things first, I need to see if Susan approves of it.

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

Categories: Family, Woodworking Tags:
  1. April 24, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    I think it looks nice, but my opinion is obviously only a side note with something like that.
    Are you planning to do raised panel on table saw, router table or hand plane?

    • April 24, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      It will have to be either of the latter two options because I don’t yet have a table saw. And if I can’t duplicate it, that’s OK by me. My skills are still developing. At least I hope they are developing. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

