Home > Woodworking > Benchtop Router Table Completion – Drill Press Table Project Undertaken

Benchtop Router Table Completion – Drill Press Table Project Undertaken

Once again I have been tinkering in my shop and in doing so I was able to complete a couple of smallish tasks along with starting a new one. Here’s my update.

Benchtop Router Table Build Completed

The benchtop router table build is essentially completed with the manufacture of a cable management system for the power cord. I had mentioned that I was going to add some hooks to the back of the table so I could wrap up the power cord for storage and all in all, I think it was a good idea. I’m happy with the way the “hooks” turned out but regarding the installation, not so much. I showed you a picture of the hook components in my last post and so far so good on their assembly. To recap, I wanted to make the top hooks swivel so that the cord could be held in place during storage and quickly deployed by turning the hooks and pulling the bundle off the stubs. Humm, I’m not doing a very good job describing this but I’m sure you’ve seen this on one of your vacuum cleaners. So….. I figured that I could put a threaded brass insert in the stem and attach the blade with a threaded bolt. If I tightend the bolt just right I would be able to move the blade yet still hold the cord in place.

Cable Keeper attached with Bolt

I made 4 of these as I wanted to use the entire back surface of the box so the 20′ of cable would need fewer wraps to stow.

Benchtop Router Cable Wrap

The bottom hooks are to be stationary so it was a simple matter to glue and pin nail the blades to the base and let them setup before installation. I went ahead and clamped them for good measure while I moved on to the  top hooks. After drilling holes in the end and screwing in the threaded brass inserts I was ready to install them.  These hooks would swivel, so I knew I would be attaching the hook base only. I used glue and carefully pin nailed through the end grain around the hex nut to allow the glue to set up. Wow, it worked without incident (surprising). Now all I need to do to finish is to glue and screw the bottom hooks and I’m done. Hum… trouble in paradise. The wood screw has to penetrate the blade, the base and then into the base and ( not surprisingly) all that seems to happen is the entire assembly wants to spin. I could twist the entire hook into the base except the blade is too long and keeps hitting the table base. Disaster. I can’t seem to get the screw through the hook and into the table while keeping significant glue for the joint. Clearly this is one of those “shop lessons” that will be learned for the next build. Had I known, I would have attached the base first (like I did on the top hooks), then glued and nailed the blades on afterward. I was obviously getting tired and frustrated because I now see many ways to resolve the issue, but at the end of the day and in a hurry to finish my build I was a blinded.

Thus concludes the router table build 1.0. I will slap on a few coats of Teak Oil finish but other than that I’ll use the table and see how it performs before attempting improvements. I already see some things that could use improving but hey, it was a good first build to help me develop my wood skills.

Bench Clamp (Maybe?)

I had an hour of so of shop time and I had been wanting to try my hand at making a bench clamp. I have had the clamp for some time but I didn’t have a dowel of the appropriate diameter for my bench and it has been on the back burner. I was at Wal-Mart on Saturday and purchased some larger dowels from their craft section. The largest dowel was a bit oversized for my dog holes, so I took it to the belt sander. On my first two attempts, I started out with a smaller piece of wood for the base, but when I screwed the clamp to it, the edges split out. So on my third attempt, I went way oversized. The dowel is screwed and glued to the base. With the build complete I tried it and I have yet to find it actually hold any work in place. It tends to swivel on the dowel. So the jury is out on this idea, it still has potential but I’m not super excited over its immedeate benefit to me.

Shop Built Bench Clamp

Drill Press Table

I’ve gotten so empowered with my last build that I have started my next project without any specific plans. I say specific plans because I have been hunting for and have reviewed several ideas from that wonder Internet and have decided to attempt my own version. I can honestly say that I have received inspiration from all of the various plans I’ve seen. Alex Harris pointed out that if the drill insert is off-center, a square insert can be popped out and turned 4 times instead of drilling a hole in the center and having to replace it. So I made my insert off-center. I’ll probably build my fence like Steve Ramsey did on his DP table. I found another free DP table plan in Sketchup and I’ll likely incorporate their ideas on laminating and clamping the table. So far I’ve cut out a piece of 3/4″ MDF for the base and 3/4″ ply for the top.

Drill Press Table Build

I’m going with a 3 1/2″ square disposable inserts, shifted from the center by about 1″ so a single insert can be turned and drilled into 4 times before replacing. Hey If I turn it over I may be able to get 8 uses out of it, hum. I actually cut the inserts to size first and used one as a template to cut the hole in the top plywood.

Drill Press Table Sacrificial Inserts

Here one of the inserts has been put in place. I was checking to see if this was all going to work on my DP. I may have to cut a small piece out of the back to go around the DP support column but it’s pretty close fit and I may not have to. I will if I find that it is needed.

Drill Press Table Cutout

Well that is about all I had time for at this session. Next I’ll decide on how I want to turn or replace the inserts. I could drill a hole in the base MDF to push the inserts up but this means unclasping the table first. I could alternatively drill a finger hole next to the insert to allow me to pry it out.  I think Alex did it that way on one of his builds. I’ll have to think about that for next time.

You have been reading an excerpt from the shop journal of the Turtlecovebrewer.

  1. December 18, 2014 at 5:46 am

    Great article, thanks for posting.

    Just a quick question where do you get your threaded brass inserts from? I am currently using a UK provider (http://www.fasteningsolutionsuk.com/) – they have next day delivery and such.

    I loved this article, very informational and a lot of detail. I’m looking forward to future articles from you. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

