Home > Woodworking > Getting Started in Woodworking: Skill-Building Projects That Teach the Basics – Aime Ontario Fraser

Getting Started in Woodworking: Skill-Building Projects That Teach the Basics – Aime Ontario Fraser

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I am an absolute beginner in the woodshop so just about everything I’m doing is being done by me for the first time. I checked this book out from my local library and I really like the content and pace of it. The web is a wonderful place filled with woodworking sites, forums, magazines, and great videos. That said, getting started for me means focusing on basic skills, building both my shop tools and knowledge to use them. There are many great resources but for now, I’m liking this book’s pace. The author provides, skill building steps along with complete and useful information without overwhelming the student (me!).

I am currently working on the “Simple Handmade Box” project which I plan to give to my wife, Susan on Valentine’s Day. I had better get moving if it’s going to be ready. I suspect she will forgive me if it isn’t quite finished. She will have this box for the rest of her life, knowing that it is the first woodworking project I have attempted and this will make all the imperfections perfect in her eyes!

Categories: Woodworking Tags:
  1. February 8, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Great information!
    Thank you!
    Chris Mobley
    http://www.cmobleydesigns.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

